Loading Events

Earthquaker Symphony

March 5, 2022 at 8:00 pm

A special collaboration with Akron’s own EarthQuaker Devices will present the Orchestra’s talents in a way they have never been heard.

Buy Tickets

Earthquaker Symphony


March 5, 2022
8:00 pm
$4.00 – $60.00
Event Category:


E.J. Thomas Hall
198 Hill Street
Akron, OH 44325 United States
+ Google Map

A special collaboration with Akron’s own EarthQuaker Devices presents the Orchestra’s talents in a way they have never been heard, as Jon Sonnenberg and Jake Gunnar Walsh use EarthQuaker’s effects pedals to fuse electronica and acoustic instruments, emulating innovators like Haydn and Beethoven.

Haydn masterfully uses strings, trumpets and timpani to create intense drama in his Earthquake. Beethoven brings to life Prometheus fleeing from heaven after stealing fire from the gods in his Overture to The Creatures of Prometheus.

William Dawson’s Negro Folk Symphony was introduced by Leopold Stokowski and the Philadelphia Orchestra in 1934. Its bluesy melodies and explosive rhythms brought the Carnegie Hall audience to its feet, who demanded the orchestra take a bow in the middle of the performance. 

The best way not to miss a note is to become a season subscriber. Patrons who subscribe enjoy steep discounts on a full season of concerts, guaranteed seats, a 10 percent discount on additional single ticket purchases, and a flexible ticket exchange program. 

Subscription packages for the full season start as low as $112, with Flex Subscriptions starting at $64. (Click here to learn more about our subscription offers.)

All concerts take place at E.J. Thomas Performing Arts Hall, located on the campus of The University of Akron. At this time, masks are required in all University of Akron buildings including E.J. Thomas Performing Arts Hall.

Christopher Wilkins, conductor
with EarthQuakerDevices
Jon Sonnenberg, guest artist

Haydn “Earthquake” from The Seven Last Words of Christ
Beethoven The Creatures of Prometheus: Overture
Beethoven The Ruins of Athens: Turkish March
Sonnenberg/Walsh Commissioned Work
Dawson Negro Folk Symphony

Buy Tickets


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
A (Lower)
$ 60.00
A (Upper)
$ 60.00
B (Lower)
$ 40.00
B (Upper)
$ 40.00
$ 20.00
Child/Student (Under 18)
$ 15.00
Valet Parking
$ 10.00
$ 4.00

Concert Guide

Attending a Concert

Every Akron Symphony concert is a unique experience. Knowing what to expect will help provide the best experience possible.

Learn more

About the Orchestra

Everything from the instruments that compose the orchestra to the way an orchestra is conducted and operated.

Learn more

Seating Chart

Understand the seating arrangement of the E.J. Thomas Hall to pick the best seats to enjoy one of our concerts.

Learn more

About the Concert Hall

Akron Symphony Concerts take place at the E.J. Thomas Hall. Here’s what you need to know, from directions to parking.

Learn more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This