Loading Events

The Four Seasons

November 16 at 8:00 pm

The Akron Symphony Orchestra presents one of the most recognizable works in all of music - Vivaldi's The Four Seasons.

Buy Tickets

The Four Seasons


November 16
8:00 pm
$4 – $60
Event Category:


E.J. Thomas Hall
198 Hill Street
Akron, OH 44325 United States
+ Google Map

The Four Seasons is a model of “tone painting.” Its depictions of the out-of-doors are among the most recognizable in all of music. A master of horn writing, Strauss composed his brilliant concerto at the age of 18. Haydn’s Symphony No. 95 – in a rare minor key – swings between sunny and dark moods. Coquetos mixes classical and Andean folk traditions to create music the composer calls “flirtatious … bold and festive.”

Christopher Wilkins, conductor
Tallie Brunfelt, violin
Meghan Guegold, horn

Frank Coquetos
Symphony No. 95
Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1
Vivaldi The Four Seasons

This concert is part of our Stand Beside Her project, a yearlong effort to highlight the work of six women composers/artists in recognition of the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment. (Learn more.)

Classic Series Subscriptions and Flex Subscriptions are on sale now. All ticket sales are final.

Buy Tickets


Unlimited available
A (Orchestra Floor Level)$60.00
Unlimited available
D (Grand Tier)$60.00
Unlimited available
B (Orchestra Floor Level)$47.00
Unlimited available
E (Grand Tier)$47.00
Unlimited available
C (Orchestra Floor Level)$37.00
Unlimited available
F (Grand Tier Side)$37.00
Unlimited available
G (Grand Tier Center)$37.00
Unlimited available
H (Grand Tier Rear)$25.00
Unlimited available
Child/Student A/D$30.00
Unlimited available
Child/Student B/E$23.50
Unlimited available
Child Student C/F/G$18.50
Unlimited available
Child/Student H$12.50
Unlimited available
Parking (Valet)$10.00
Unlimited available
Parking (Regular)$4.00

Did You Know?

Antonio Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons is one of the earliest pieces of program music that has remained a fixture in the repertoire. (Source: The NPR Listener’s Encyclopedia of Classical Music

Composer/pianist Gabriela Lena Frank is currently serving as Composer-in-Residence with the Philadelphia Orchestra and was named one of the 35 most significant women composers in history by The Washington Post in 2017. (Source: Gabriela Lena Frank Creative Academy of Music)

Haydn’s Symphony No. 95 is one of 12 London Symphonies that he composed and which stand among the highest peaks of symphonic art. American musicologist Leonard Ratner called them “the culmination of a long period of growth in skill, fluency and fantasty.” (Source: The NPR Listener’s Encyclopedia of Classical Music

Because of his father, Franz, a principal horn player, Richard Strauss became a great champion of the horn. His first Horn Concerto showed the influence of Schumann and Mendelssohn and remains a staple of the modern horn repertoire. (Source: Classic FM)

Concert Guide

Attending a Concert

Every Akron Symphony concert is a unique experience. Knowing what to expect will help provide the best experience possible.

Learn more

About the Orchestra

Everything from the instruments that compose the orchestra to the way an orchestra is conducted and operated.

Learn more

Seating Chart

Understand the seating arrangement of the E.J. Thomas Hall to pick the best seats to enjoy one of our concerts.

Learn more

About the Concert Hall

Akron Symphony Concerts take place at the E.J. Thomas Hall. Here’s what you need to know, from directions to parking.

Learn more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This