Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Gospel Meets Symphony

February 23, 2019 at 7:30 pm

The Akron Symphony Orchestra and the powerful voices of the Gospel Meets Symphony Choir come together for an inspired community celebration.

Buy Tickets

Gospel Meets Symphony


February 23, 2019
7:30 pm
$4.00 – $60.00
Event Category:


E.J. Thomas Hall
198 Hill Street
Akron, OH 44325 United States
+ Google Map

The Akron Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Christopher Wilkins will be joined by the inspirational voices of the Gospel Meets Symphony Choir to present Gospel Meets Symphony on Feb. 23 at 7:30 p.m.

The concert – one of Northeast Ohio’s proudest and most enduring musical traditions – will feature the Orchestra as well as a variety of inspirational songs performed by some of the area’s best musicians and vocalists. In addition, 181 people from 77 area churches will make up the Gospel Meets Symphony Choir.

That collaboration of musical styles is what makes the event such a unique experience, according to Jennifer Mekel Jones, choir director.

“(Gospel Meets Symphony) has always been a wonderful way to highlight what happens in Akron. And how we all have the ability to work together and come together and to embrace not only our similarities, but also our differences, and be able to celebrate them,” Jones said in a 2018 interview with the Akron Beacon Journal. “That’s always been at the heart of what GMS represents, and that’s something that is timeless.”

Please note: Vouchers may not be redeemed for this performance. All ticket sales are final. No refunds or exchanges.

Gospel Meets Symphony Choir
Jennifer Mekel Jones, Choir Director

Buy Tickets


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Did You Know?

The Akron Symphony Orchestra and the powerful voices of the Gospel Meets Symphony Choir come together for an inspired community celebration. It is one of Northeast Ohio’s proudest and most enduring musical traditions. This performance, which has created numerous memories since its debut in 1994, promises to deliver something new, fresh and homegrown.

The genesis of Gospel Meets Symphony grew from discussions among Orchestra leaders and committee members about a growing trend to blend the music of gospel choirs with that of symphony orchestras, leading to the first Gospel Meets Symphony performance in 1994.

About the Artists

Jennifer Mekel Jones, GMS Choir Director

Jennifer Mekel Jones, a native of Akron, performed her first concert at age 17 with all original compositions. As a performer, she brings her own style of singing and smooth vocals to gospel music. Being a singer, songwriter, composer, arranger, licensed and ordained minister, and mental health service provider, Jennifer is considered to be a valuable gift to the community.

As Chorus Master and featured soloist, Jennifer has performed with the renowned Akron Symphony Orchestra and the Gospel Meets Symphony annual concert for the past seven years. The University of Akron and Ashland Theological Seminary graduate also serves as the co-host on Ohio’s Power Of Word And Music Ministry radio broadcast, and has performed live as a guest artist on shows such as SiriusXM Radio, The Word Network, Atlanta Live, TBN and TCT.

Working with the Change Direction Initiative, she is the co-author of the song Change Direction, which promotes discussion about healthy mental health conversations. With several songs appearing on the Gospel Billboard chart including the top 20 Billboard single Great God, her music can be heard nationally and internationally.

Jennifer is currently finishing her new CD which she says “will be a compilation of songs that ministers to your soul by giving you hope, strength and love.”

Gospel Meets Symphony Choir


Laura Beth Arnott
Carolyn Brooks-Joyce, Section Leader
Evangelist Sylvia Brown
Charlene Butler
Vera Carroll
Arlene Cichan
Rose Marie Clunk
Natosha Covington
Sherrell Davidson
Barbara Dean-Thomas
LaToya E. Evans, Section Leader
Alyce Fambro
Gloria Fenner
Doretha Folds-Williams, Section Leader
Barb Goettel
Reva D. Golden
Carol Griffin
Patricia Harris
Linda Harris-Ridgeway
Denise Haynes
Shelba Keaton
Gail Keller
Natausha Kight
Tylynn Kight
Liz Linear-Talley
Lois Lumsden
Tiffany Martin
Artelia Mayfield
Kathy McKee
Tiffany Millirons, Section Leader
Charnae Morrison
Mary Ann Nething
Ayesha Nurruddin
Lydia Olja Hearty
Annette Powell
Darlene Ramsey
Sundra Rumph
Tammy Salata
Ethel Satterwhite
Vicky Shaw
Jacqueline Sheeley
Faith Shropshire
Emelda Stewart
Ronda Tucker
Shannon Tyler
Barbara J. Valentine
Shareefatt C. Wahid
Brenda Wallace
Valerie Watkins
Tanieka Watts
Julie White
Minister Sharon Williams


Ida Ashford
Thelma Baldwin
Julia Bell
Rev. Lance J. Bell
Patricia Boyer-Jones
Millicent Brandon-Porter
Mamie Brown
Karen D. Bryant
Frances Coast
DeShone Craig
Bobbie L. Crawford Jr.
Russell Davis II, Section Leader
Marna Engram
Sean Gilbow, Section Leader
Arlene Graham
Lori Grant
Beverly Houston
Nancy Howell
William G. Humbert III
Deborah Ingersoll
David L. Jones Jr.
Mamie Lane
Millicent Nelson
Renetta Otis
Donell Phipps
Cynthia Reynolds
Tony Ridgeway
Patricia D. Riggins
Keif Riley
Johnmeka Roper
Joyce F. Rowland
Margie R. Smith
Carole B. Starks
Claudester Stephens
Roseann Ulrichy
William Valentine III
Deborah F. Vaughn
Minister Tony Virden, Section Leader
Tanieka J. Watts
Lisa M. Wilson
Marquetta D. Wootson
Latricia Young


June Adams
Mary Anderson
Francine Blake
Sharon Bond
Carolyn Boykin
Shaeleah Burgess
Charlotte Grace Buzzelli
Carrie Chapman
Jasina Chapman
Dorothea J. Clarke
Rema Cole, Section Leader
Angela T. Cooper
Mihaela Coteat
Cora Edwards
Sylvia English
Deborah Eshun
Donna Felton
Dawnielle Fikes
Christine Stone Flakes
Sheila Fowler
Danielle Gilbert
Sharon Goodrich
Heather Grant
Maretta Hamilton
Dianne Harris
Luanita Humphrey
Wellsley Jones, Section Leader
Vanessa Karim
Kimberly Keiper
Sandy Keiper
Mary Kelly
Toney Kight
Tampa Lann-Murphy
Roselyne Lewis
Cherie Lopuchovsky
Debbie Mason
Reesa Mathews
Judy Mayfield
Camille McGowan
Judy Lynn Mervine
Marcia Miller
Diana Millirons
Brittany Moorer
Jakitoro Nwa
Robyn O’Hara
Charron Otis
Danita Palmer
Belinda Parker
Marie Parms
Darlene Pearson
Liz Piatt
Carla D. Portis
Khrystal Pratt
Dedria Price
Kimberly Ricks
Thelma Ricks
Barbara J. Salak, Section Leader
Dionne Sanders
Clarissa Santana
Loretta Slezak
Margie R. Smith
Carolyn J. Davidson Suddieth
Laurie Taylor
Claudette Thomas
Sylvia A. Thompson
Anne Tolbert
Veronica Townsend, Section Leader
Rasheedah D. Wahid
Arlett White
Hope White
Iris Williams
Liliani Williams
Wanda Williams
Vonda Wilson
Anita Young
Marguerite Young


Antwan J. Benford, Section Leader
Charles Benford
Eugene Fubler
Nicholas Griffiths
Dorothea M. Hunt
Terry Jones
Doug Kubinski
Carl Motley
Pastor Henry J. Payden Jr.
John Quinn
Ken Slezak
Greg Taylor
Joseph Townsend, Section Leader

Concert Guide

Attending a Concert

Every Akron Symphony concert is a unique experience. Knowing what to expect will help provide the best experience possible.

Learn more

About the Orchestra

Everything from the instruments that compose the orchestra to the way an orchestra is conducted and operated.

Learn more

Seating Chart

Understand the seating arrangement of the E.J. Thomas Hall to pick the best seats to enjoy one of our concerts.

Learn more

About the Concert Hall

Akron Symphony Concerts take place at the E.J. Thomas Hall. Here’s what you need to know, from directions to parking.

Learn more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This