ASO announces 2021-22 season

ASO announces 2021-22 season

The Akron Symphony Orchestra returns to the concert stage in 2021-22 with renewed variety and vitality.

Our upcoming season continues our commitment to presenting a diverse musical experience to Northeast Ohio, with classics from Beethoven’s Fifth to Handel’s Water Music, jazz-influenced works by Duke Ellington and Aldemaro Romero, innovative works for Korean dancers and a collaboration with Akron-based EarthQuaker Devices, and a spotlight on composers who deserve greater recognition like Florence Price, Julia Perry and William Dawson.

We are also excited to share the concert hall with the community at Akron’s own Gospel Meets Symphony, and our family friendly Home for the Holidays concert.

The season schedule includes:

Beethoven, Price, Ellington
November 13 @ 8 pm

Dvořák My Home
Perry Three Spirituals
Ellington The River
Price Ethiopia’s Shadow in America
Beethoven Symphony No. 5

Home for the Holidays
December 10 @ 7:30 pm

Baroque Virtuosos
January 15, 2022, @ 8 pm

Romero Fuga con Pajarillo
Stravinsky Concerto in Eb “Dumbarton Oaks”
Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
Needham Tuba Concerto
Handel Water Music (excerpts)

Gospel Meets Symphony
February 12, 2022, @ 7:30 pm
Gospel Meets Symphony Choir
Gospel Meets Symphony 2.0 Choir

EarthQuaker Symphony
March 5, 2022, @ 8 pm

with EarthQuakerDevices
Jon Sonnenberg, guest artist

Haydn “Earthquake” from The Seven Last Words of Christ
Beethoven The Creatures of Prometheus: Overture
Beethoven The Ruins of Athens: Turkish March
Sonnenberg/Walsh Commissioned Work
Dawson Negro Folk Symphony

Symphonic Dances
April 2, 2022, 2 8 pm
Alice Blumenfeld, flamenco dancer
Korean Three Drum Dancers

Clyne Masquerade
Price Dances in the Canebrakes
Newmaster Impressions of Cheonmachong
Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances

The Creation
April 30, 2022, @ 8 pm
Akron Symphony Chorus

Daniels Deep Forest
Haydn The Creation

The best way not to miss a note is to become a season subscriber. Patrons who subscribe enjoy steep discounts on a full season of concerts, guaranteed seats, a 10 percent discount on additional single ticket purchases, and a flexible ticket exchange program. 

Subscription packages for the full season start as low as $112, with Flex Subscriptions starting at $64. Single tickets, at $60, $40 and $20, will go on sale October 1.

All concerts take place at E.J. Thomas Performing Arts Hall, located on the campus of The University of Akron.